Stop reckless LNG tax breaks

URGENT! Help us stop reckless LNG tax breaks. Send a personalized letter to Premier Horgan now.

On Monday March 25th 2019, the BC NDP sided with the BC Liberals to vote 80–3 to approve new fossil fuel subsidies to prop up liquefied natural gas (LNG) export projects like Woodfibre LNG and LNG Canada. This latest tax giveaway has been calculated at over $6 billion, and is in addition to subsidized power rates, elimination of the LNG royalty tax, reduced provincial income tax, and exemptions from carbon tax increases, to name a few.

This is a stunning turnaround for the BC NDP, who criticized past tax breaks granted to LNG export projects by the BC Liberals as "a bad deal."

It is clear that the LNG industry cannot stand on its own two feet without massive tax breaks and subsidies. Earlier this month the Asian spot price for LNG fell to the lowest it has been in 19 months.

The tax breaks and subsidies that have already been granted to this fledgling LNG industry are irresponsible and reckless. Incentivizing fracking and the rapid export of BC's natural gas seriously threatens BC's ability to meet our climate targets.

Experts say that BC LNG will create more greenhouse gases than coal due to leaking methane from fracking, and delay the transition to renewables. If it proceeds, LNG Canada will be the single biggest source of carbon pollution in B.C. Why is the BC NDP still subsidizing a fossil fuel industry that will increase fracking and worsen climate change?

Please take a moment to write to Premier Horgan and your MLA, and ask them not to support these reckless LNG tax breaks. You can send a letter using the sample text provided, but please take a moment to personalize it - personal letters are much more powerful.

Example talking points:

You can read Bill 10, the Income Tax Amendment Act 2019 here.

  • To:
    John Horgan

  • Sincerely
    (Your name and contact details will be added here.)

  • Cc:

    Carole James
    Minister of Finance and Deputy Premier

    David Eby
    Attorney General

    Michelle Mungall
    Minister of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources

    George Heyman
    Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy

    Doug Donaldson
    Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations, and Rural Development

    Mike Farnworth
    Minister of Public Safety and Solicitor General

    Bruce Ralston
    Minister of Jobs, Trade, and Technology

    Andrew Weaver
    Leader of the BC Greens

    Andrew Wilkinson
    Leader of the BC Liberals

    Your MLA